21 Jun 2015

REVIEW: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1)
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Genre: YA/New Adult, Fantasy, Retelling.
Publication Date: May 5th 2015
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Format: Paperback
Pages: 416
Rating: 5/5

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Timesbestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

This was sent to us from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This is no way altered my opinion of this book.

How can I put this simply?

I flipping loved this.

I feel like I've just read a whole series that spans across three books just from the first one. So much happened in this book that it efficiently blew my mind and I was just so excited reading the whole thing. There wasn’t one point in the book where I wanted to put this book down.

First of all, if you’re looking for a fantasy series with an easy and quick to understand world, this one is for you. There are barely any new words to learn that are difficult and the structure of the world makes logical sense that you barely even have to concentrate on the facts.

This book is quite different to other fantasy books in the way in which it is written in first point of view (others tend to be written in third). That was a surprise for me, going into this book. However, a welcoming surprise, since I dread reading books with multiple points of view.

One of the things that I noticed in the middle of the book was that we lost a bit of
Feyre’s traits I adored the most. Feyre was initially a huntress and she had a lot of fantastic insight in survival and protecting herself and her family and during her stay at the castle, I felt like since she had no use for it. Thus, her strong character weaned down to a weaker female being that we see in so many castle based books. Luckily, we actually did get to see her skill put to the test once again during the end of the book, so that was satisfying.

Okay, let’s get down to the boys.


I love him.


I find him interesting.

A lot of people think this is going to be like Warner and Adam in the shatter me series and I really just don’t want to think about that at all.

I really really love Tamlin and I do ship Feyre and Tamlin together, but I also can see that there is something looming in the distant future.

I am just so conflicted because I don’t want to be persuaded off Tamlin but knowing Sarah J Maas, that might happen.

The stress is real folks.

Anyway, I adored this. I totally recommend this for sure!

Thank you Bloomsbury Australia for sending us a copy of this book for review.